top of page

DavidBowieIS & DeWolff (Vera Groningen 24-03-2016)

David Bowie Exhibition & DeWolff concert review Vera Groningen 24 march 2016

This day started out with a visit to the Groningermuseum. The DavidBowieIS exhibition is like a rock concert you just have to attend. Like many other Bowie fans have done before me, I too signed the condolence register at the entry. I already knew this, but at the end of the exhibition you start to realize what an amazing artistic creature he was. It appears to be obvious that he has been an inspiration to many other artists. His legacy is in many ways grand and the way he staged his last goodbye with Lazarus is absolutely David Bowie worthy.


As the evening progressed I started to check out if there was a band playing in town. I was very excited when I found out a Dutch band called DeWolff was hitting town that night. I heard about the band before, but was not familiar with their songs and never had the chance to see them live. Unfortunately the show was sold out so I had to bluff my way in and lucky me, I found myself at the front of the stage just before the show started.



A three piece band, with Pablo vd Poel on guitar/vocals, Luka vd Poel on drums and Robin Piso on keys (no bass). Vintage 60/70’s styled with Gretch drums, Gibson guitars, Marshall amps, Hammond organ and a Leslie rotation amp. Judging by their instruments I could guess what DeWolff would sound like. Right from the first note my assumption was confirmed. I got absolutely blown away by the raw power that lies in the combination of Hammond and Gibson. Ad a very groovy and super skilled drummer and you travel right back into the 60’s going 70’s.


It’s a Doors set-up combination but although I am not nearly old enough to have been there, they more remind me of Dutch glory days of old, reminiscent to the likes of Cuby and the Blizzards, Sweet d’Buster and Focus. It’s southern rhythm & blues yet rocky, psychedelic 70’s fusion rock turning jazzy, all drenched in a reverby sound of sheer power. One song reminded me of Mother's Finest "Baby Love" while another song seemed to be their own interpretation of Dave Brubeck's most famous jazz song "Take Five".



The band members are crafty and it’s a pleasure watching them perform. Halfway through the set the stagelights got killed by a power failure for nearly 2 songs , but Pablo, Luka and Robin professionally kept playing in the dark as if nothing happened and the audience took their mobile phones and waved flashlights to light up the venue. Hence an ambience unlikely to forget. These are the things that make a show special.



The concert was an unexpected surprise and I didn’t get disappointed. Needless to say those nights are the better ones! I ended up buying cd’s and talking musician stuff to Pablo (the Guitarist/vocalist) and so finished a perfect day of rock ‘n roll.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Er zijn nog geen tags.
Follow Us
  • YouTube Social  Icon
  • Facebook Basic Square
bottom of page