top of page

Black Saturday

Tomorrow it's black saturday once more, the day when holiday starts and roads will be flooded with cars and automobiles. 3 dayz ago I worked on some new essence tracks in the studio. Same week, one year ago I was working on a drumtrack in that same studio when, around 18.00 the news hit me that possible friends of mine just died in a car crash. Little did I know the news was about Marcel and Nancy.

Shocked as I was I called Hans about what happened and rushed home. While driving the car it started to dawn and I started to realise what just had happened. An upsetting feeling came over me. It just felt right to pick up Hans Diener from Antwerp to stay over at my place so we could mourn that tragic loss together.

The following days were very confusing. We had to work on new material in the studio.

The day after the crash Hans and I sat down for dinner in my garden. Two doves, not pigeons but doves! landed in my lawn and tiptoed through the grass for some time, then flew to the ledge of the roof and looked down upon us. I remember thinking it was weird because I never saw pigeons or doves near the garden. We laughed as Hans told me he hated pigeons. I didn't think anything of it at that moment but several days later it dawned upon me. I truly believe it could have been Marcel and Nancy saying goodby. I added up the facts. Hans was there, which does not happen often. I never saw pigeons in the garden let alone doves! and....Doves cry. They came in a pair, not single! Hans hates pigeons, it reeks of Marcel's wits to tease Hans to appear in the form of doves, not the usual butterflies.

The horrible accident dominated the newspapers and national television. Inbetween we attended the wake that was held at an old church in Koudekerk ad Rijn, Marcel and Nancy's hometown. We walked to "Marcel's" pond where a beautiful ceremony took place. Some days later the funeral. A bright, beautiful and sunny day. At the end of the day the weather took a left turn and a nasty thunderstorm passed over as if Marcel decided to call it quits.

Impressive to see how many people came to attend the funeral. An international gathering it was. It showed how Marcel and Nancy were loved by so many people. It is still difficult to believe they are not among us any more. At our concerts I will always be looking for their faces in the crowd. An emptiness that can't be filled.

You can pay tribute to our friends by coming to our concert in Rotterdam on the 1st of October 2016. All revenues will go to a trustfund established for their kids to get through college


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Er zijn nog geen tags.
Follow Us
  • YouTube Social  Icon
  • Facebook Basic Square
bottom of page